Official Home Of The Iowa High School State Baseball Tournament

West Des Moines Valley vs. Ankeny

July 30, 2005

The Valley Tigers captured their fifth state title in school history on Saturday night with a come-from-behind victory over the Ankeny Hawks at Principal Park. The 8-6 victory was capped by a four-run sixth inning after trailing 5-4 most of the game. Valley finished 38-3 on the season and claimed the 4A title for the third year in a row.

West Des Moines Valley starting the scoring off with a bang in the bottom of the second when second baseman A.J. Shindler sent the first pitch he saw into the left field skyboxes above the left field wall to give the Tigers and early lead. The blast, Shinlder's second of the season, was of the two-run variety, scoring Dan Jennings who doubled to left one pitch earlier. The scoring came after Ankeny recorded two quick outs in Valley's half of the second.

In what became a common theme in the 2005 state tournament, the opposition responded the very next inning as Ankeny notched five runs to take the lead. Ankeny took advantage of a trio of free passes, two hit-by-pitches and a walk, turning them into three runs on doubles by Kalvin Johnson and Shane Spooner. Todd Vogel plated the initial run on a sacrifice fly and Kellen Vance later added an RBI single to give the Hawks a 5-2 lead.

As if on cue, the Tigers clawed back into the game in the bottom of the third. After a double by Michael Johnson, Jordan Burrows would reduce the lead to two, lining a run-scoring triple over the head of Ankeny left-fielder Matt Huegerich. Burrows would then cut the lead to one, finding the dish on a wild pitch.

The bats for both teams would go silent for two and a half innings before Valley would plate the tying run on a past ball following a pair of singles from Kyle Jones and Cole McClelland. Then, with McClelland on third, Brett Ferguson laced a single to tie the game at five. The Tigers would go on to add three more runs, including the go-ahead run on a throwing error that would have recorded the third and final out of the inning for the Hawks.

At Principal Park • Des Moines
Quarterfinals: Wednesday, July 27
West Des Moines Valley 11, Cedar Rapids Prairie 1 (five innings)
Iowa City West 4, Ottumwa 2
Council Bluffs Lewis Central 2, Fort Dodge 0
Ankeny 12, Clinton 2 (six innings)
Semifinals: Friday, July 29
West Des Moines Valley 13, Iowa City West 1 (five innings)
Ankeny 10, Council Bluffs Lewis Central 2
Championship: Saturday, July 30
West Des Moines Valley 8, Ankeny 6