Official Home Of The Iowa High School State Baseball Tournament
4A CHAMPION: JOHNSTON  - large image


4A CHAMPION: JOHNSTON  - small image

FOUR FROM 2016: Four teams return from the 2016 tournament. Back are the defending champion Cedar Rapids Prairie, the team that was runner up Iowa City West, plus Johnston and Waukee.

RATED AND ADVANCING: Six of the Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association rated teams have qualified. It is the most in recent years. The top three teams — Johnston (1), Dowling Catholic (2) and Iowa City West (3) lead the six, which also includes Prairie (5), Waukee (6) and Mason City (10).

THEY’VE WON TITLES: Five of the eight qualifiers have taken home championship trophies. In addition to defending champion Prairie, Dowling Catholic has won five titles with the last being in 2011; Johnston has garnered three gold trophies with the last coming in 2013; Cedar Rapids Washington owns two crowns with the most recent being 1994, and Mason City won the 1972 championship.

ROOKIE STATE MENTORS: Two of the coaches are making their inaugural state appearance. They are Mark Roering of Dowling Catholic, in his third year with the Maroons, and Cedar Rapids Washington mentor Scott Brune, in his fourth campaign.

CIML or MVC? The eight qualifiers hail from the two largest 4A leagues in the state. A representative from the two conferences has won the last seven state championships, with the CIML holding a 5-2 edge.

BIG WIN COACHES: Iowa City West’s Charlie Stumpff is the Win Dean of this year’s field with a career record of 725-391. Waukee’s Dave Dirkx brings an 18-year mark of 459-183 to Principal Park and Mason City’s Troy Rood has a 16-year career slate of 393-270. Incidentally, Dirkx as prep shares a state championship game record of 4 hits which he collected for Storm Lake St. Mary’s in 1993.

WIN STREAKS: Johnston brings a 17-game win chain to the playoffs and has won 21 of its last 22 games. In a topsy-turvy season, Dowling has the second-longest current win streak at five.

IT’S BEEN A WHILE: Each of the eight teams has a state tournament history but this is Cedar Rapids Washington’s first trip since 2009 and Mason City’s first since 2011.

ENROLLMENTS: The IHSAA uses the official state certified BEDS enrollment figures for grades 9 thru 11 for the 2015-16 school year for the placement of a school in a class. In Class 4A the top 48 schools have battled for a tournament slot. Waukee is the largest school in the field with 1,768 students while Mason City is the smallest with 815.

THE TOURNAMENT: This is the 72nd season for the State Summer Baseball, which has been in four classes since 1981. It is also the 90th State Tournament series that started in the Spring of 1928. This is the 13th year for the four-class tournament at Principal Park. In the previous 12 years at Principal Park nearly 370,000 fans have supported their teams. Attendance since 1997 is over 510,000 going into this year’s games.

Click here for team and individual statistics. d select the class you want, then select "Load List" and team stats for the state qualifiers will be displayed. To view individual stats, click on individual season stats, select the class you want to view in the "2017 State" tab, then hit load list and all individual stats for the 8 tournament teams or individuals will be displayed. You can sort that list by clicking on the stat category of hitting -- hits, avg, rbis, etc, pitching or fielding


View All News Items